Board members

The Trust Board is appointed by the Environment Minister as defined by the Act and brings together expertise in conservation, natural resource management, recreation, tourism, planning, development and matters of interest to rural and Noongar communities. The eight Trust Board members are:

Mr Hamish BECK

Mr Hamish BECK (Chairman)

Mr Beck is Managing Director of Beck Advisory, a property development advisory and asset management business and had formerly held the following appointments: • Board Member of the Art Gallery of Western Australia • Chairperson of the Art Gallery of Western Australia Foundation • Chairperson of the Property Education Foundation • Division Councillor of the Property Council of Australia • Chairperson of the Curtin University Property Studies Advisory Committee • Member of the University of Western Australia Urban and Regional Planning Advisory Committee • Member for the Rottnest Island Marine Advisory Committee • Rear Commodore of Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club.  Mr Beck was appointed to the Trust Board in June 2011 and as Chairman in June 2014 for a term of three years.

barbara watroba

Ms Barbara WATROBA (Deputy Chair)

Ms Watroba is a Senior Registrar and Manager Quasi-Judicial Services Perth Magistrates Court. She is a former Senior Associate of the Litigation and Regulatory team at DLA Piper Australia, working mainly in construction related litigation matters. Barbara has a LLB Honours degree (Macquarie University), MA Women’s studies (Deakin University) and Bachelor of Environmental Design (UWA). Ms Watroba was appointed to the Trust Board in February 2012 and as Deputy Chairperson in June 2015 for a three-year period.

vanessa davies

Ms Vanessa DAVIES

Ms Davies has traditional links to the Wongai and Noongar people in Western Australia.  She has comprehensive executive management experience in government relations, justice, employment and education, health, community and Indigenous relations.  In 2000, Ms Davies completed a postgraduate Masters Degree in Management and Leadership at Curtin University.  Ms Davies was reappointed to the Trust Board in December 2015 for another three years.

img peter king

Mr Peter KING

Mr King is currently the Director of Port Development for the Pilbara Ports Authority based in West Perth. Peter has 35 years experience of project management and stakeholder relations in Western Australia’s government and private sectors and in the Middle East. He has extensive experience in Western Australia’s statutory approvals processes and has a successful track record in facilitating some of the state’s major resource and infrastructure projects. Peter is a successful leader with sound strategic planning skills and has demonstrated success in community consultation and high level negotiations. He holds a Bachelor of Science (Hons) at the University of Western Australia..

david saunders


Mr Saunders is the Executive Director Regional Planning and Strategy at the Department of Planning. He holds a Bachelor in Applied Science (Environmental Management). Mr Saunders brings extensive experience in protected area management in Commonwealth, State and Local Government levels along with strategic and statutory planning experience. Mr Saunders was appointed to the Trust Board in April 2015 for a three-year term.

vicky rasmussen


Ms Rasmussen is a strategic fundraiser who has been working in the not-for-profit sector for over 20 years.  She is currently employed with Xponential Philanthropyas a Managing Consultant, responsible for all the operations of the Western Australian business including management and strategy of significant capital campaigns in WA.  Ms Rasmussen was appointed to the Trust Board in June 2014 for a three-year term.

jeffery stone

Mr Jeffrey STONE

Mr Stone has more than 30 years of experience as an educator and brings strong leadership skills and a commitment to learning. He holds a Bachelor of Education and a Diploma in Teaching (WACAE, Nedlands Campus). He has worked in a range of educational contexts with a focus on engagement with the wider community, promotion of school culture and the development of staff. Mr Stone was appointed to the Trust Board in June 2014 for a three-year term .

Councillor Darryl Trease

Cr Darryl Trease

Cr Darryl Trease (City of Swan) is the Western Australian Local Government Association nominee. He is a councillor at the City of Swan, Swan Valley/Gidgegannup ward. He has been a Justice of the Peace since 2008. He serves as a committee member and community representative on a number of bodies including the Swan Valley Planning Committee (Deputy Chair) – Department of Planning, East Metro Joint Development Assessment Panel and Agricultural Producers Committee – Department of Agriculture and Food. Cr Trease was appointed to the Trust Board in February 2016 for a three-year term.